First Snows of June

JuneSnow

Peking Lilac China Snow

During long evenings of June
Sweet scent of China Snow

and Minnesota Snowflake
Battle their overwhelming flavors

Their clouds heavy with rains
Balanced on golden amber stems, peeling

Days of January and days of June pass,
Same trees cloaked in cold and warm

Time clicks by, counted in rings thick and thin
Days of beauty, days of ugly, days of much, and days of none

Days like smells, overwhelming, yet mostly unnoticed
Like colors, many, still all melding into white

This long June evening, I am
watching for the hundredth time

Same small crooked man with his smallish white dog
A dark silhouette on white clover street

Seeing him and his dog for the very first time

JuneSnow2

Minnesota Snowflake Mock Orange

~~~

About BeeHappee

Where have all the bees gone? Where have all the flowers gone? https://beehappeenow.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to First Snows of June

    • BeeHappee says:

      Thank you. At Morton Arboretum last night, it was beautiful and smells are strong, rains moved in, people left, and we were catching tadpoles all by ourselves. 🙂

  1. shoreacres says:

    I’m so happy I finally came here to visit. There’s much to enjoy and appreciate. I have some special interest in the Soviet Union and Central Europe, so those posts really intrigue me. And I read about Banksy and Bloomberg — what an interesting pair those two make!

    The poem is lovely. I’m especially taken by the last lines about seeing the man and his dog for the first time: even though it is the hundredth time.

    I could spend the rest of the afternoon exploring, but I’ll save it for other afternoons. I hve a feeling there is much I’ll find of interest in your archives. And I must say, your English is just fine, and certainly better than that used by many of our native-born speakers!

    • BeeHappee says:

      Oh, thank you so much for your kind words. One of these days I will sit down and organize this blog a bit better, since it is a big mish mash of various things, no particular theme. Thank you for stopping by and your kind comment!

  2. Bill says:

    Days like smells, overwhelming, yet mostly unnoticed

    I love that line. Overwhelming, yet mostly unnoticed. Note to self–allow yourself to be overwhelmed more often.

    • BeeHappee says:

      Thank you, Bill. I am sure your Fridays and market days are quite overwhelming, in a good way. I hope you get to rest on Sundays. One thing we always looked forward to is the restful Sundays, which were meant for family time only, only basic chores done.

  3. Olive says:

    These lines had the same effect for me…..slow down more. Notice. Really lovely, thoughtful words here about the beauty of the familiar. Thank you!

What do you think?

