I Hope You are Skipping

skip

I hope you are skipping through clouds
Toes dipped in cottony candy
And when they move apart
like ice floats in the warming Arctic,
Sun coming in, you whirl right through, so free

I hope you are skipping in pebbles
Smooth ones to feel delight and
Rough ones, the roughest to keep
to keep you skipping and to cut wide open
The canvas of the tent, to see the trees

I hope you are skipping hopscotch
Surrounded by muddy knees and chalky fingers
little runny noses, bright eyes, fine braids
Skipping one foot, not sure which, no rules
Your teachers leading the way

I hope you are skipping in smiles
Smiling eyes one face to another
Hugging hands for the weeping ones
Accepting all the good and rotten
Carried in our fruit baskets to share

I hope you are skipping right now
Washing dishes, pulling weeds, cutting trees
Sore muscles, splinters, and eyes not fond of screens
Summed up by thousands body movements in a day
Tippy-toe skipping in misty Prairie Smoke

I hope you are skipping aside
from illusions, those usual, known, defined
forms, divisions, beginnings and ends
When tiniest fog of last June morning clears
Shifts to a luminous and lucid day

And I hope you are skipping

~~~

About BeeHappee

Where have all the bees gone? Where have all the flowers gone? https://beehappeenow.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I Hope You are Skipping

  1. bobraxton says:

    as I read, in my mind I am listening to a vinyl record – needle (stylus) skipping … grove to grove

  2. Yes! Skipping aside from illusions, those usual, known, defined
    forms, divisions, beginnings and ends…
    One hopes so! 🙂

  3. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

    Love this!

  4. blazeburgess says:

    Reminds me of Cortazar’s Hopscotch where he wrote (paraphrase) that when you stop playing the game and start playing life, you forget that to get to Heaven (i.e., the top spot) you have to have a pebble and a toe.

    Nostalgic, even for me, who never skipped much.

    • BeeHappee says:

      Interesting on Cortazar. Nice to skip to heaven. You seem to have an endless stream of books, movies and music.
      How old are you? It is never late to start skipping. (repeating myself). 🙂
      But if seriously, my best memories from childhood was this game girls used to play in Soviet countries – Chinese rope. E.g. google Classical Chinese Jump Rope Tutorial, with elastic rope. Used to steal all my mom’s elastic that she needed for underwear or what not, and be out there with friends until pitch dark. After school we would just do that instead of homework. 🙂 Some games/rules were pretty complex both mentally/strategically as well as acrobatically.

  5. shoreacres says:

    My most recent skipping has been skipping the internet — over July 4th, I didn’t even take my laptop with me and wouldn’t have had a connection if I had. Of course, now I’m tempted to skip an extra hour or two of work to catch up with everything, but that wouldn’t be good, either.

    When I was in grade school, our physical education classes (just called gym, back then) included dancing, and one of the favorites was “Skip to My Lou.” I see some of my classmates still are at it!

What do you think?

