How to Speak Rain

Pond in rain

Stillness of pond,
And the bullfrogs frozen.
Fierce little Poseidons,
Guarding the corners
of their watery territory.
I am sitting still.
But how flawlessly moves
the rain gathered in leaves!
And slowly down the branches
vanishes in thirsty moss,
or gathers for fancy frog tea
In water-lily cups.
We follow, imitate, copy,
Joining palms together into flower cups
But the drops find a way against our wishes
To escape and wash naked toes.
Grass blades shiver and bend
From the tickle of miniscule drops,
This invisible hand
Plays piano on the meadow,
Unpredictable summery symphony,
Scattered notes, like you and me.
Like the heron
Who waits patiently
to grab his prey,
Then flies off to the unexplored
Without warning.
Beauty of unpredictable,
Like the summer’s rain.
Less you learn how to speak
Rain

~~~

About BeeHappee

Where have all the bees gone? Where have all the flowers gone? https://beehappeenow.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to How to Speak Rain

  1. shoreacres says:

    Nice, gentle, summer rains are so lovely. During our prolonged drought in 2010 and 2011, I’d sometimes put on a youtube video of an hour’s worth of rain, just to listen to it speak.

    • BeeHappee says:

      This June and July we had rain almost every day. Sometimes it seems to come from nowhere, then drizzles, then pours, then stops, then it is a rainbow, and it starts all over again. šŸ™‚ We sleep to the rain ‘white noise’.
      Right now, I am sitting by the open window, rain coming down, beautiful sounds, I picture myself in a Japanese house bamboo paper door, rain on rice paddies.

      Talking about listening to sounds, have you listened to Gordon Hempton recordings on YouTube, and to interviews with him? : http://www.onbeing.org/program/last-quiet-places/4557

  2. noblethemes says:

    Beautifully picturesque and peaceful … and I, too, would love to relax “in a Japanese house” with “bamboo paper door” listening to gentle “rain on rice paddies.” Lovely!

    • BeeHappee says:

      Thank you! I am remembering some Japanese movie, I think. There is a rain + sun scene in Kurosawa’s “Dreams”. Sadly, rain is toxic in Japan after Fukushima, although kills the body, can’t kill the soul.

  3. smcasson says:

    Aw man! Wow that was a beautiful poem. Marvelous images in it.
    We’ve got a few days of predicted dry weather, (thru the weekend!) complete with triple digit heat indexes. Its shade trees and cold showers for AC here…

    • BeeHappee says:

      Thank you so much, Scott! Same here, heat index 105F for the next 3 days no AC either.. do you not have a window unit? We have to go buy a box fan or something..

      • smcasson says:

        We actually do have central heat and air, but due to the way I ran the heat exchanger for the wood boiler, we can’t run the A/C because it will freeze that heat exchanger and break it. I plan to drain that heat exchanger, but even still we won’t use the A/C. We want to make sure we can live without the A/C because I am not running central in the new house! $$$$
        The best value in fans, in my opinion… http://www.lowes.com/pd_416724-11292-SFC1-500B_0Z1z10wwcZ1z11k3pZ1z140qi__?productId=4755301&pl=1&Ntt=fan
        or at HD (they’re the same thing) http://www.homedepot.com/p/HDX-20-in-High-Velocity-Floor-Fan-SFC1-500BI/202757016
        Boy those things move some AIR! highly recommended.

        • BeeHappee says:

          Thank you, Scott! We never ran AC and some summers had many 100+ days plus humidity. It does get to me (and especially when I was nursing babies, too hot to nurse), but that just makes me want to move to Maine or some place cooler rather than get an AC. Seems like dehumidifier around here may be almost as effective as AC sometimes. Good luck.

          • smcasson says:

            Ah, yeah, I know what you mean. Our 8-month old gets so fussy when it’s hot and time to nap… She was born into a cold winter, many days our house wouldn’t get above 55, almost never above 60, so she HATES the heat. (Then, talking recently with the building inspector, he says, “yeah, if you can get an engineer to sign off that a wood stove will keep the back bedroom with the door shut at 62+, it’ll pass inspection.” I just looked at him like, you have no clue…
            Good luck to you too!

          • BeeHappee says:

            She is my kind of girl. šŸ™‚ 55F is cold in the house, but I will take over 100F. I will e-mail you offline questions about building inspectors and all that..

  4. Very nice poem and photo! šŸ™‚
    The river that we live on was 25 feet higher than normal, but it is now receding. Our home stayed dry, thank goodness!

  5. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

    This is so beautiful. I love it! I can totally get into it, feel it and just be there. Thank you. I so love the rain and frogs and children playing in it.
    Mary

    • BeeHappee says:

      I am glad you liked it, Mary. I appreciate your words. We really did enjoy playing in the rain quite many times this summer, and had been catching frogs and toads and fish. These memories have such bright colors, they don’t fade, I remember my frog-catching from decades ago.

  6. Seeking Joyful Simplicity says:

    Beautiful, lovely poem. Rain, water, so precious, and yet so often taken for granted (until a drought.)

  7. Olive says:

    I miss the sound of rain. It is warm, which we dreamed about all winter. Still, every fall, with the first rain, my kids and I run! Outside to feel it, to rejoice in the return of cooler, wetter weather. Your poems make me feel like I am right next to you, experiencing. Thank you. I love sleeping during rainy weather, it just feels so nice to be tucked in and cozy. I suppose your summer rains are warmer? Our frogs sound like a light switch turned them on/off at night, and we never see them in daylight. Interesting how similar and still different our lives are.

    • BeeHappee says:

      Thank you, Olive. Our summer rains range from quiet peaceful drizzle, to raging storms with tornadoes, ripping off tree tops, from humid sauna-like hot rain to cooler refreshing rain. I like the cool rains.
      Lots of bullfrogs here in every single pond we had seen for the last 6 weeks. They are so loud, and bullfrog tadpoles are huge, easy to find. Bullfrogs do sit all different sides of the pond, guarding their territories. Once in a while we run into grass/meadow frogs, and of course, tons of toads after the rains.
      Frogs and toads were loud in spring/early summer at night, now they are more quiet, but cicadas picked up the sound.
      Thanks for reading and telling your stories. šŸ™‚ I was driving for an hour in deep fog last night, and thought of Hedgehog in the Fog by Norstein, I know your girls liked it. Did you watch his other animations? The seasons? Tale of Tales? Shame the quality is not best on Youtube, but still worth watching.

      • Olive says:

        Not yet…but thanks for the reminder! Will definitely try to remind the girls of his other films! That one was so sweet šŸ™‚

  8. blazeburgess says:

    A really wonderful poem. Reminds me of my childhood, listening to rain hit the roof. For some reason I found (and find) that comforting.

    • BeeHappee says:

      Thank you! We definitely had plenty of rain this summer, plenty of opportunities for comforting times. Unless it is a flood and flash flooding, like yesterday.. šŸ™‚

      • blazeburgess says:

        I have and will continue to taken advantage of those opportunities. Until, as you say, it floods and I run around trying to get everything out of the basement. It’s all part of the joys of summer.

  9. Bill says:

    Beautiful images Bee. Speaking rain, and an invisible hand playing piano on the meadow.

  10. barnraised says:

    This is so beautiful…speaking rain!

What do you think?

