Winter Coat Designs

winter_coat1

We hunt like cats with tails
Fisheye squinting for frogs.
Yet fate designs its own
Below the visible surface.

So we blend and mesh it all,
love and a dash of smiles,
A hurry of racing,
And a thrill of chasing…

Fuzzy winter coats
Covering full bellies;
Strolling barefoot still
Through chilly September grass,

He strides besides me —
I’m watching for thistles for you!,
He assures proudly.
Covered in winter coats,

Thistles cleared away,
Ready for a long freeze,
Gathered by warmed hearts —
Life’s miraculous designs

winter_coat2

About BeeHappee

Where have all the bees gone? Where have all the flowers gone? https://beehappeenow.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Nature, Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Winter Coat Designs

  1. nicoleaugust says:

    Yes, aren’t the first real chilly days of fall glorious !

  2. noblethemes says:

    Wonderful! Beautiful! 🙂

  3. shoreacres says:

    I’m curious as can be about the thistles. Why are you collecting them? Aren’t they prickly? Surely they’re not edible — or are they like Jerusalem artichoke? Maybe you’re just getting rid of them. So many questions!

    We’ve had a couple of days of cooler temperatures — enough that the windows were open for exactly four hours, before the humidity started coming up, and it became clear it wasn’t quite time. But, oh, the kitty-cat loved it. She sniffed and sniffed the air. I think she’s more eager for fall them I am. She’s already growing her winter coat.

    • BeeHappee says:

      Thanks, Linda! No, not collecting thistles (perhaps I should? – they are edible after all – except that it is illegal to forage in the forest preserves – argh..) So we just let them grow, try not to step on them with naked feet.
      Yes, we had windows wide open for a while now. I do not do well with closed windows be it summer heat or winter freeze. 🙂

  4. Reminds me of two things…M.C. Escher’s three worlds depicted in the floating leaves on the water’s surface and the koi swimming beneath…and the cozy intro to Pynchon’s Mason & Dixon. Wonderful writing you’ve done here! –Paul

    • BeeHappee says:

      Thank you so much! I know nothing of Pynchon’s Mason & Dixon will have to look up. Wow, thanks for comparing to M.C. Escher’s Three Worlds, it’s a compliment. I think I actually had some very similar pics to Three Worlds some place, as we did find this humongous catfish right beneath the surface, hard to capture it in the photo though.

  5. blazeburgess says:

    Your words are so evocative, even where I don’t have similar experiences. I still feel like I know exactly what you mean.

    I can only imagine what they must mean to you.

  6. smcasson says:

    I gotta admit, I don’t get the thistles thing either. Is that what your boy is covered in?

    • BeeHappee says:

      🙂 Too funny about the thistles. No, he is covered with cattail fuzz mixed with string algae he fished out. Thistles were just all over the ground, they rolled down the hill and were poked by thistles, so when we walked barefoot, he said to me that he would make sure and warn about the thistles ahead. 🙂 Sorry it got to be so confusing. Anyway, this week the summer is back again, so we can save the coats for later.

      • smcasson says:

        I didn’t mean to pick apart your poem! Don’t be sorry.
        Summer is supposed to come back this week here too, but that’s ok, all the brick in the house got down to the high 60’s so we have some A/C saved up 🙂

        • BeeHappee says:

          Well, you just did and ruined all the mystery. . . so thanks a lot. 🙂
          Yeah, nights of 60 with still very loud cicadas is my favorite thing in the world.

          • smcasson says:

            Awww. 😦
            Sorry everybody! lol

          • BeeHappee says:

            I was just gonna give you a link to a cool blog I found with some neat creative sensory ideas for kids, but now I just cannot find it. Will send you when I locate.
            Yes, anyway, my guys like strangest things. Boy enjoys the idea of covering himself in some camo with leaves, algae, or mud. Lots of old fashioned work used to be quite sensory that now people try to recreate in play. E.g. kids love shelling beans, we had a couple batches from the CSA to shell, and they were fighting over them.

What do you think?

