When the Sky Falls

fog3Like a lazy cat, getting sleepy for the winter, the wood now immerses herself in a cold foggy morning shower to wake up, to keep awake a bit longer, before the frost hits. Here, the fog does not rise, it is the sky that falls, the cloud descends lower as the days get shorter, it traces webs and grasses and washes down the seeds, it soaks into my boots and coat, and fills the lungs with certain clarity.

fog2fog1woods2~~~

About BeeHappee

Where have all the bees gone? Where have all the flowers gone? https://beehappeenow.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to When the Sky Falls

  1. Great shots! I like the misty fog and the dew! πŸ™‚

  2. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

    Brrrr! Moist cold. Wow. Nice photos! Love the beaded water. I love taking those too. Is that a beaver lodge in the second shot?

    • BeeHappee says:

      Actually, it is not feeling very moist or cold. Compared to summer humidity, fall feels really dry in IL, unlike I am used to rainy fall in Lithuania (although more mushrooms there!). Yes, beaver lodge, we visit them very often, neat to watch them when it freezes and we can get right above them and see their holes.

  3. smcasson says:

    Great spider webs. We are just now starting to drop leaves. Of course, the walnuts have been dropping for weeks now…

    • BeeHappee says:

      Leaves just started quickly turning here in the last few days. I can never get enough fall. Been soaking up the woods figuratively and literally I guess. πŸ™‚

  4. shoreacres says:

    Our fall still is lingering — perhaps it’s still with you. On the other hand, the days are shorter, the light is different, and just yesterday I saw a great V of geese flying, heaing south to the fields filled with grain, and the wild marshes.

    I love fog, but so far it’s been too warm for either ground fog or sea fog. I tell myself to be patient, because I have deadlines to meet at work, and fog make things significantly difficult. Once the deadlines are met? Welcome, fog and fall!

    • BeeHappee says:

      You feel like you are lagging behind in the fall, but you will be the first up with the spring. πŸ™‚ Oh, the sea fog, I miss that. Grew up on Baltic sea, most of the time it was damp, cold, rainy, windy, foggy, and somehow I grew to like it.
      Geese are great to watch in the fall. I was working in the fields this week, in just in a few hours there were flocks and flocks flying overhead. Sometimes if we get lucky we get to see them do some interesting gatherings and rituals before they take off, they gather and party at the local streams, reinforcing their flock.

  5. blazeburgess says:

    That’s such a gorgeous landscape. It reminds me of Travellers and Magicians. And the lungs filling with certain clarity really struck me.

    The sky falling, too.

    Your perspective is really appealing. Especially given that my natural, unenlightened thought come fall is “I wish it was warm again.”

    • BeeHappee says:

      Thanks, Blaze! Travellers and Magicians looks like another good movie I’d love to watch. Just finished Summer’s Pasture per your recommend, and liked it a lot. Enjoy the fall. πŸ™‚

What do you think?

