Carrot School

carrotsIt was my first carrot school.
The one where you learn the math of art
and the art of math.
Harvested corn for five pregnant cows
And turnips happily round-cheeked,
kale stubbornly fighting stretchy rubber bands,
Rooster crowed every morning as I pulled up
And birds announced the coming of rain
before Carolyn brought me her yellow raincoat.
Baby soft kohlrabi in purple dresses
And lettuce, a shameless show off, in Las Vegas neon
Humble carrots embraced in love –
For fifty hungry families.
Like carrots squeezed closer
by clay hard soil
then loosened, exposed, and chopped off
learning it is either sizzling in butter
Or wilting forever, but no matter
It is life giving.

So we lingered at the last harvesting.
We lingered at the last farmers market,
Fed hungry eyes with the colors undiscovered
Very last time. Till next May.Β  Hugs exchanged.
Young man thanked for his daily food.
And I walked past the US Bank, where
on a bench sits a Man, a Lady and a Dog
They sit every day on their blanket
Like a picture permanently painted
I handed her an apple, and she smiled:
“Oh, breakfast! I don’t like cooking breakfast
so this is perfect!”

And I went home, to chop celeriac for soup
And read some of The Dirty Life
Where the author writes,
“The difference between an amateur and a pro
is that the pro does not have
an emotional reaction to losing anymore.
It is just the other side of winning.”
I went home, to linger for a while
with that knowing of the other side of winning
packed in one pocket,
the smile of the Lady packed in another
and my most valuable diploma,
carrot school diploma, neatly sitting
in the bright red suitcase.

~~~

About BeeHappee

Where have all the bees gone? Where have all the flowers gone? https://beehappeenow.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Carrot School

  1. nicoleaugust says:

    Very nice! We’ve had a few hard frosts, dug the last of the carrots and soon the final beets. The garlic will go in soon, and then the gardens will be sleeping for the winter.

  2. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

    Last farmer’s market. Sad. Everything is ready for long sleep.

    • BeeHappee says:

      We had last one in our town two weeks ago, and it was a bit sad, because it has become our Saturday tradition, just hanging out in town with fresh Croissants and live music. Other towns though still have a couple weeks left and then there is winter markets, so we will not starve. πŸ™‚
      Many lasts though, last trick-or-treating in this neighborhood for kiddos they are so used to. We are moving, closing many chapters out and starting new ones, will miss some great friends we made and some places. Said last good byes to the sweet cows at the farm that closes for the season today. Somehow, like the old adage goes, it all becomes treasure when it’s gone.

      • Bee. You are moving. We talked about this. Any chance you could say where? The world is big, you know.

        • BeeHappee says:

          πŸ™‚ I will reply in private when I can.
          I surely could use a course from you on minimizing the junk. I had kept local Good Will busy for days, well, it feels liberating to reduce it all to a couple backpacks. That’s my goal anyway, πŸ™‚

          • Thoreau writes of an Indian tribe that burned everything they owned once each year, and Franklin suggested that we keep nothing in our homes that we do not consider useful or beautiful and someone else I forget who wrote a book titled Small is Beautiful and Faulkner has a character who lives in a slave cabin with a single cot only and rich Tolstoy started making his own shoe s and he too one day walked away from everything and never come back

          • BeeHappee says:

            Thank you for reminding that about Tolstoy, I had totally forgotten. Small is Beautiful by Fritz Schumacher, 1973? I will have to check that out. Few years back I read Simplicity Parenting, and since then (not that we had much before that), had reduced greatly what we deemed as needed. I thought we have little, no furniture to move or anything, just a mattress on a floor for decades (like that slave with the cot), couple pots, two pairs of shoes, toothbrushes and jeans. Still, it appears that kids stuff accumulated over the years, burning once a year sounds good. I do struggle with some personals, like two boxes of crafts that kids made, a whole bag of handmade knitted clothing that grandma made for kids, handmade dolls she made for them. Those types of things I want to hang on to, yet I do not wish to drag them all over the place, so need to figure out a way.

  3. noblethemes says:

    Very natural, heart-warming, homey and real… Very good and quite refreshing! Thank you once again, Bee! πŸ™‚

  4. shoreacres says:

    I’m becoming more and more grateful for our year-round harvests. True, there still are seasonal fruits and veggies, but there’s always something.

    I love you photo of the carrots. They look so much like the dolls little Liberian girls play with — the mother, wtih the baby on her back. I suppose Eskimos, too, and other tribes. Central American mothers, too, with the babies in shawls. It’s all as homey as the thought of carrots, sizzling in butter.

    • BeeHappee says:

      Thank you, Linda, for pointing that out. Yes, when I was picking the carrots and finding the wrapped up ones, I thought of lovers, but when I took this pictures of these two guys and looked, it looked like a mother with a baby on the back. I miss carrying my little guys that way.
      We still have some winter markets, and lots of stuff is just reaching their peak at this point, late fall crops. We are making baked apples stuffed with raisins, and cranberries, and nuts and cherries and cinnamon sugar and butter for Halloween. πŸ™‚ How is that for homey smells? πŸ™‚

      • shoreacres says:

        It sounds wonderful. How do you do it? I know there’s probably no “recipe,” per se, but it’s been so long…. Do you mix everything with the butter and sugar and stuff, or put the goodies in, and the butter on top?

        • BeeHappee says:

          We do butter on top, or kids do whatever they feel like. You can premix it all, like some chopped nut, fruit, honey and cream of wheat and stuff with that. You can stuff with ricotta+egg+vanilla. Whatever you fancy. Then poke the peel with fork a bit so they do not explode. Bake until you smell them, like cookies. πŸ™‚ Then eat just like that or with vanilla ice cream.

  5. Ah! Lovely writing! You always put the words to good use πŸ™‚ and you get better and better. I really admire your poetry! –Paul

  6. Bill says:

    We went into town yesterday to break down our stand at the market, last Saturday being the last market day of the year. We’re encouraged by all the people who responded as you do. It gives us a sense of satisfaction, and of accomplishment. I’m glad that Fridays and Saturdays will be less rushed now, but I’ll miss seeing our farmers market friends. When I saw the reference to carrot school my first reaction was that if such a school exists, I failed out of it (having regularly experienced the other side of winning when it comes to growing carrots). Cherie told me about your message. Exciting. πŸ™‚

    • BeeHappee says:

      Thank you, Bill. Carrots did really well here, we are still making our way through a huge bag I had picked up – all the leftover non-perfect carrots that cannot make the CSA shares – one benefit of being a worker share, you can get all the tomatillos before they get tilled in and and all the carrots that are not perfect. πŸ™‚ I surely miss my weekly work days in the fields. That is about one thing for the last few months that kept me semi-sane. πŸ™‚

  7. blazeburgess says:

    This is so lovely. You have a way of tying together disparate thoughts and moments in such a cohesive way. It all feels like it’s expressing a single thought from different angles. I envy that mental stability.

    Also, you have a way of showing photos of common things like carrots in such a way that I question if I’ve ever seen a carrot.

    • BeeHappee says:

      Thank you, Blaze, you made me giggle with the “mental stability”. πŸ™‚
      Those carrots are really neat, it is a heirloom variety, white carrots were common in the middle ages through the 19th century then became rare. Seed collectors brought them back. This one is called “Snow White” and is very tasty.

What do you think?

