Monkeys and Tails

Birds3

Sometimes, poems do
reveal just their tails.
Then I nudge gently
To figure out what’s in front.
You blink for a moment
And it may be gone.
Pull too hard
And it will run away.
This one was fuzzy and bubbly,
Like the children in the bathtub
Over the turn of the year.
They are clinking colored plastic cups
Cheers! of foamy imaginary champaign,
And they scream in drunken joy
Now we are drunk! Watch this, mom!
Them, and us, children,
Hugging side by side,
Sliding on slipery bathtub slopes,
making monkey faces and funny hair.
Dilluting ourselves.
Imbuing cells full of essence.
Then, at the eleventh hour,
We synchronize our clocks for timelessness.

~~~

About BeeHappee

Where have all the bees gone? Where have all the flowers gone? https://beehappeenow.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Monkeys and Tails

  1. noblethemes says:

    Quite beautiful and happy; this brings cheer to my heart and puts a smile on my face. Thank you for sharing the hugs, slides and imaginary champaign “over the turn of the year.” Happy New Year! 🙂

  2. smilecalm says:

    new year’s
    poetically
    never ends 🙂

  3. This is a great poem! Reminds me of the poetry of San Antonio’s own Naomi Nye. I really like her work! You should try to publish this one. My friend is the poetry editor of a publication here in Texas called Literati Quarterly (if you’re interested). Send me an email 🙂 –Paul

    • BeeHappee says:

      Hey, thanks Paul! I will check out more of Naomi Nye, I only had read hers, “Different Ways to Pray”. I don’t think I am all that interested in publishing in print. Also, I did steal two images in this one. One, the ‘catching poem by the tail’ image – from Ruth Stone. Second, the “thirteenth hour” image from the Hopi poem “The Ones We had been waiting for”: http://www.communityworks.info/hopi.htm
      I am sure you can relate, how sometimes the whole thing just comes out of nowhere within seconds from some small little thing, that’s why Ruth Stone’s image. Take care. 🙂
      Kristina

  4. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

    Beautiful Bee. I love “we synchronize our clocks for timelessness.” Thanks Bee.
    Mary

  5. Scott says:

    Great one. Quite enjoyed it!
    At least they’re clean monkeys, for the minute. 😉

  6. shoreacres says:

    I enjoyed the poem. Playing in the bath always was a favorite occupation when I was a kid. As for those mentions of time? It’s already January 4 — how did that happen?

    I liked seeing that red-winged blackbird, too. They migrate through here, and some spend time. They’re always and forever a midwestern bird to me, no matter where they show up. Redwings, meadowlarks, and robins: the sounds of summer to come.

    • BeeHappee says:

      Thank you! Yes, redwings are quite concentrated here, better not mess around their nesting areas. 🙂 Some chikadees had been singing all weekend here, although snowy and icy, you can sense to tide turning towards spring.

  7. Very lovely and different! It had me thinking!

What do you think?

