Spells and Honey

 

summer_meadow

I think Mary Oliver put a spell on me
When I was reading “Watering the Stones” to my girl
The one where the stones drink and sometimes talk.
Or maybe it was a scarf of light
She borrowed from Buddha.
But it felt like a warm scarf of a spell
Like those soft white sparkly mohair scarves
My mom’s friend from Bashkiria
Used to mail us for Christmas.
The package would come in full
of white mohair lace and wild bee honey.
Deep golden honey spread freely
in a plastic bag, we would drizzle it into a jar,
and smell the stream of forest with eyes closed,
smell pure Heaven. Maybe that’s the moment
I fell in love with spells and wild bees.

Now, this warm light lifting my shoulders,
I walk out the revolvingย  glass doors
To greet the drinking stones,
To see if they ate through the snow.
and robin on a leafless branch above
says: Hello!. Hi, I whisper shyly at first
How is your day going?, he asks
We chat a while before I head back
through the revolving glass doors.
Paper people will ask what am I doing
Out there at my lunch hour
Talking into the sky.
I could tell them I talked to a bird,
But this time I catch myself lying:
I prayed to God.

~~~

For my bee-loving friends, Bashkiria (one of the autonomous regions of Russian Federation) honey is one of the most prized in the world, still being harvested old-fashioned way

~~~

About BeeHappee

Where have all the bees gone? Where have all the flowers gone? https://beehappeenow.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Nature, Poetry, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Spells and Honey

  1. nicoleaugust says:

    I was burning beeswax candles the other day so I could have that smell. Can keep you going in the winter !

    • BeeHappee says:

      Yes, somehow that Bashkirian honey memory came back on Christmas. ๐Ÿ™‚ We rolled the wax candles from wax sheets with kids to send to grandma, I wanted to burn some, but of course, they would not let me burn them, try to convince them candles are for burning. ๐Ÿ™‚ We did rub some wax on the bottoms of our sleds to make them go faster. Stay warm up there.

  2. shoreacres says:

    The article you linked was so interesting. And I especially liked this: “in Burzyan folk tales the fool is invariably the man who has a lot of cattle but few honey hollows.” It occurred to me that having a honey hollow certainly would be better than having a hollow honey. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I talk to birds all the time. Birds are sensible, mostly. I’ve net a couple of mallards who were flat crazy, but I suppose every species has its embarassments.

    We used to rub candlewax on our sled runners. We made a lot of candles for Christmas, too. the ones I liked best were poured into milk carton sections filled with ice. The candles weren’t solid, but delicate and frothy-looking. Good memories.

    • BeeHappee says:

      You cracked me up with the “every species has its embarassments”, Linda. I talk to everything and everyone in the woods, but never realized I am also embarassing myself by the office buildings. ๐Ÿ™‚
      I will have to take a look at those milk carton candles. I am seeing tutorials online, my girl will love it.
      I liked that quote also. I liked the tradition of one generation prepping the bee hollows and then waiting for kids or grandkids or great grandkids to harvest the honey. Now that is some connection to your environment and family. Perhaps if we still did that, we would not be so eager to use it all up within one lifetime..

  3. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

    I love bees and stones and honey and robins. I talk to them too. Thanks Bee. I could smell the honey as I read your beautiful words.

    • BeeHappee says:

      Thank you, Mary! My little one is obsessed with stones, I think he dragged every single rock he found into the house. ๐Ÿ™‚ If I could only send you some smell of that honey. . .

      • Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

        That would be nice! I raised bees for a short time and plan to do it again. I love the smell. Your Bashkiria honey sounds divine!

  4. Scott says:

    The bee article was fascinating. I’m curious how the hollows are constructed.
    I guess I’ve got some wild honey from when I evicted the hive from my house!

What do you think?

