Beatitudes in Tiny Tiptoes

FarmMarch12

I was walking at Trader Joe’s
Looking at onions, maybe avocados,
when I heard the tiniest voice
behind me: I love your hair!
I turned around, and there, gleaming,
was a small blond-haired pumpkin,
white-rimed glasses, pink coat
and a palm-tree on the top of her head.
I love your hair, and I love your glasses
And I love your heart, I said.
She giggled, pushed her little cart,
overfilled with joy, bouncing,
forward, ran up to the next person:
I love your hair! I love your hair!
I love this bag! I love this bag!
I love these tomatoes!
And from across the store
She spun around, looked at me,
lifted her tiny almost transparent fingers
and announced:
And I am four!

~~~

About BeeHappee

Where have all the bees gone? Where have all the flowers gone? https://beehappeenow.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Kids, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Beatitudes in Tiny Tiptoes

  1. Hariod Brawn says:

    The many bee attitudes of children eh?

  2. gatheringplaceseasonfour says:

    we know a little one who on her July birthday said “I am four!” – it was a long wait for such a one.

    • BeeHappee says:

      Isn’t four fabulous, age four, and season four, still as good. 🙂

      • gatheringplaceseasonfour says:

        Still hark back to book “The Three Boxes of Life” (1- education, 2 – work, 3 leisure – retirement). 2011 retirement of spouse, I began my journal and named it Third Life. A year ago we eased into a decades – long dream of spouse – a large space, we named it “the Gathering Place” – a four-season room; and with the recent hip replacement (hers) and 72nd birthday, definitely Season Four. This September 49th anniversary.

  3. noblethemes says:

    How beautiful! So often children are like living, breathing icons of the Spirit of Life; they bring untold and unexpected joy. Only four years old? What a privileged encounter!

    • BeeHappee says:

      🙂 Yup, I met her last night, and could not stop watching her. It was quite interesting, her mom looked a bit embarrassed about her child’s endless love and enthusiasm.

      • noblethemes says:

        Oh . . . I’m sorry to hear that; some parents are so overly concerned that their children are “bothering” others, when in reality they’re bringing life and joy!

        • BeeHappee says:

          I cannot blame her, I had been there too, many times. A good reminder for all of us. Which reminds me, had you seen this TED talk by Mel Robbins?:
          http://tedxtalks.ted.com/video/How-To-Stop-Screwing-Yourself-O
          What stood out for me is that 5-second rule (or seven seconds or what not), but your first impulse basically. To do something. To say something nice to someone. To just go with it before any doubts start floating in. I have been catching myself in this, it is quite effective actually.

          • noblethemes says:

            Ah! What an encouraging, healthy rule, and one I need to practice. For me it is more often fear that prevents me from doing or saying something good, nice or whatnot. Fear is probably one of my biggest inhibitors; I’m sure it is for others as well. That’s what makes the child so precious: Lack of inhibition or deterrent.

  4. That’s really precious 🙂 –Paul

    • BeeHappee says:

      Ah, yes, thank you, I was thinking of Jessica too! Saw her way way back, and I had done ‘Jessica’ myself in front of the mirror once or twice. 🙂 This little one was super prescious though because she was not even affirming herself (‘my’ house, ‘my’ school, ‘my’ hair), she was just sincerely enjoying everything and everyone around her.

  5. Scott says:

    This was great. You’re so good with kids 🙂

  6. What a great (and appropriate) title for a blog post.

  7. smilecalm says:

    inspiring!
    today i’ll be
    no more
    than five 🙂

What do you think?

