Playing the Now Game

OwlCanyon6

Play The NOW GAME, they say.
It cures fright, worry and guilt.
So I play. Walk into the family room.

There, children drizzled candle wax over the floor.
Just to check if it would be slippery, they say.
With a placid smile I play: We are scrapping it off. NOW!

In the kitchen, they covered cabinets in shaving cream
Carrying their ‘pet Fuzzies’ in their palms, they insist.
So I play, serenely, by the book: We are cleaning it off. NOW!

In the living room, sits a pile of hair
Sister snipped off her brother’s head.
And I still play smiling: scissors in hiding, NOW!
This time, double NOW: everyone marching to bed, NOW!

Is NOW getting a bit bold? Growing an ego?
Getting tricky? Perhaps it’s just an impostor?
You better do the laundry, NOW!, he commands me.

Then we snuggle, and NOW gets quiet
Even NOW needs to rest sometimes.
I think we will raise the NOW
In our kitchen and family room
On waxy floors and smeared cabinets
We will toy with the NOW, now and then,
And tickle him,
Until the grumpy NOW
learns how to smile

~~~

Inspired by Scott Noelle’s today’s post “The Now Game”. Scott’s parenting advice, the unconditional love broken into small manageable daily pieces has been a great inspiration and well-worth practice for me over the last year. If you are a parent, I highly recommend his Daily Groove.

~~~

About BeeHappee

Where have all the bees gone? Where have all the flowers gone? https://beehappeenow.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Parenting, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Playing the Now Game

  1. nicoleaugust says:

    We used to finger paint with shaving cream on the kitchen table as kids :).

    • BeeHappee says:

      Will have to try that. 🙂 We had our shaving cream share all summers long, for body painting and whatever else, covered from head to toe before the sprinklers. I love watching the endless parade here, in just 2 hours there was pizza dough on the faces, rolling pin fencing, fake skin and cuts made from clay, fez and chef hats made of coffee filters, pipe cleaner dancing princesses, now it is princes in silks and queens with knives. Nice to be carried away through all six continents and few millenia in a couple of hours. 🙂

  2. DM says:

    I remember the wall colored on the rental house we were living at, colored in permanent magic marker…even KILZ paint stain blocker couldn’t block it out…. they grow up so fast, although while you are in that season of your life, it sometimes feels like f 0 r e v e r ….

    • BeeHappee says:

      Ha, yeah, we needed some KILZ, many coats. 🙂 Truthfully I do not mind any of it, they do get to help cleaning, even though this destruction of the house is magnified by twenty times in the eyes of a parent who is trying to so desperately sell the house. 🙂 That is why I usually take them to the farms.

  3. Michael says:

    I had a friend growing up. His parents approach was OVER THERE. They basically had a wall they could draw whatever they wanted onto, and a room to utterly destroy, which they did, with occasional carry-over and collateral damage. I think the NOW in that household was overwhelming… In a good way… I loved your scenes here, and was laughing throughout. Thank goodness we have humor!

    Peace
    Michael

    • BeeHappee says:

      Collateral damage. I like that. I think in Elizabeth Lesser’s book “Broken Open” I read about her having her living room as a slam ball play field, and the story of the slam ball eventually being banished from there was both sad and funny. I am glad this made you laugh. 🙂
      I swear I turn into Kramer sometimes:

  4. What a great piece 🙂 You have such an immense poetic writing talent!!! Also, the picture is great! The whole world looks slanted 🙂 –Paul

  5. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

    Hahaha Kramer! i love how you raise your kids, KristinaBee.

  6. Incredibly descriptive.. and some one has lots of Patience in the NOW.. Wonderful 🙂

  7. shoreacres says:

    Indeed. Even Now does needs a rest, now and then. There’s wisdom enough in the old command Nike took for its slogan — “Do It Now!” — especially for procrastinators. But “NOW! can be a harsh master. It doesn’t always leave time for the moonlight, or the lifting swallows.

    • BeeHappee says:

      Ha, master procrastinator here. So much so, that I have to trick myself sometimes to do what has to be done so that I can reward myself with the lifting swallows. But oh well, there are always exceptions. 🙂
      In Lithuanian we have this saying that rhymes:
      Ka gali daryti tuoj (what you can do now)
      Niekad nesakyk rytoj (never say: tomorrow)
      Sometimes I have to sing that to myself.

What do you think?

