Elevation 12,000 feet

Dear friends!!! No, I had not vanished, just stepped back from WordPress to do some exploring. We had been travelling for a few weeks hiking mountains and enjoying American West. More impressions and photos later, but for now, here are just a couple photographs of my favorite, Bryce Canyon in Utah.

DSC_0121

DSC_0072

DSC_9929

DSC_9932

DSC_9923

DSC_9999

About BeeHappee

Where have all the bees gone? Where have all the flowers gone? https://beehappeenow.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography, travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Elevation 12,000 feet

  1. Sara says:

    What fantastic photos! Hiking is very close to my heart…I wish I could take 3 months off of work and explore the beauty of our country’s trails 🙂

    • BeeHappee says:

      Thank you very much! Sorry for late reply, we had been travelling. 🙂 Yes, it is definitely worth it, taking time off to enjoy the incredible beauty of this country.

  2. Hariod Brawn says:

    Extraordinary images, Kristina, for which many thanks, and the sensation of actually being there must have been quite incredible.

    • BeeHappee says:

      Thank you very much, Hariod! My apologies for delayed response. Yes, standing on the edge of the vastness and this beauty is completely overwhelming. It makes me love and appreciate this earth so much more.

  3. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

    Hey Kristina!
    Oh I do just love Bryce Canyon, especially with snow. The contrast. Lovely photos, Bee.
    Peace,
    Mary

    • BeeHappee says:

      Thank you, Mary. I had been traveling and behind on Word Press reading. Looking forward to savoring your photos and writing once again.
      Greetings to you from across the world, Lithuania.
      Kristina

  4. shoreacres says:

    Well, hello, there! What a wonderful time away you’ve had. I can’t wait to hear more about it!

  5. Scott says:

    Glad to hear from you. Good to hear you’re doing well! Enjoy the exploring…

  6. Michael says:

    Beautiful images, Kristina. What an amazing planet we share. The canyons appear to have been tickled pink by your family’s visit! Looking forward to hearing more about your adventures!

    Peace
    Michael

    • BeeHappee says:

      Thank you, Michael. It is truly amazing the colors that you can see there, depending on location, light, sun. I grew up in Lithuania among the grey rocks and never really appreciated how beautiful a rock can be.
      Best wishes,
      Kristina

  7. Beautiful scenery Hope you enjoyed your exploration.. The Views are stunningly beautiful

    Love and Hugs Sue xx

  8. Woah!
    How cool is that!!

    • BeeHappee says:

      Hej, Ron. How is life across the Baltic? We are heading to the rainy sea today, will wave at you. 🙂 We are in Lithuania for the summer. If you sail this way, let me know. 🙂
      Kristina

  9. Bill says:

    So beautiful. A wonderful trip, I’m sure. I’ve never been to that part of the world. Maybe someday….

    Welcome back!

    • BeeHappee says:

      Thanks, Bill. Yes, sounds like your idea with RV would be great, UT, CA, OR, as well as many other places are magical in so many ways.
      Have great exploring days, wherever and whenever they are!
      Kristina

  10. We went to the Grand Canyon and Monument Valley last April. We were surprised (but not disappointed) to get snow and cold weather at night. The elevation is high after all and we were on vacation so who cares? It was beautiful just like your pictures. What I liked about Monument Valley was the beauty, of course, but also noting the way the Navajo lived. I thought it interesting to experience being a minority in a sea of black hair and brown skin. (Somewhat uncomfortable.) Mangy dogs roaming everywhere (had to feed one part of my indian taco meat) Tidy yards around the hogans. (Navajo seem industrious). Love your poetry by the way.

  11. Zambian Lady says:

    Amazing photos. I can imagine how it feels to see, smell and touch such places in person.

  12. migarium says:

    It is really good to see you again my Earthling friend! I started to think “Did BeeHappee leave this planet without the permission of Galactic Council?”:) I’ve been sick most of the days of April and when turned back I couldn’t see you. And here you’re! I am happy! And these are amazing photos! Thank you for sharing with us your adventure! Actually these seems from another planet:) Are you sure you are not in Mars;)

  13. smilecalm says:

    how wonderful to bring me
    back to the southwest of UT
    on your travels!
    wishing you continued joy
    wherever you land 🙂

  14. I re-enlisted. Life is busy but very different now that we have our own place. Love your photos and poetry! Look forward to posts from the Baltic Sea. Tell us about regional foods and customs. I would love to hear. Best, Renee

    • BeeHappee says:

      Thank you, Renee, for your compliments. I got distracted by kids and missed your previous comment. 🙂 Yes, life is a bit different here, slower pace, more old-timey stuff. We are eating fresh salads now and watering tomato plants which only grow in greenhouses here. Wonderful diary products and incredible dark rye bread, I can live just on bread and butter all day. Days are long, light until 10 pm, most kids run here unsupervised here all day, everything is small and easily accessible. 🙂 You barely ever need a car.
      Yes, we went to Grand Canyon in April also, as well as south UT canyons. Planned to camp, but nights were too cold, snow was some places. Kids loved the old observation tower at the Grand Canyon. I sat on the edge of the canyon and wept from that feeling of grandeur and history. It is a magical place.
      Best of luck to you with your new place. Looking forward to hear about your homesteading. I loved rural California. Loved Oregon.

      • You know I am Midwestern born and raised but the west is a magical place. I always said Iowa is great and you look in the tiny places to find the magic. The magic is not gigantic and in your face in Iowa. Out here, citing Yosemite which is only 1-1/2 hrs away, you are blown away. The Grand Canyon. As I walked up to the view I was practically hyperventilating. I can see why you would weep. It’s unbelievable in a way.

        Actually the Baltic sounds wonderful. Like I said before I am looking forward to your posts about customs and food and how it smells. I always want to know the scent of a place. Ok ok I’m weird.

        Why do tomatoes only grow in greenhouses?

What do you think?

