Senses of Love

dsc_4404

How else would you decide to try
to lick your elbow upon an early morning,
or measure thumb against your middle finger
when he shouts: mommy, look, they are same size!

And would you hear the souls of streams
in popping bubbles, in watery explosions,
as they poke a stick in rocky river beds
and glue your ear against the wooden grain:
Just listen!

How else would you adore the art:
Canoes carved out of milkweed pods,
Mandalas rippled in acorns, leaves, and sticks,
and rainbows of the colored canyon sand.
Shield bug houses constructed of the paw paw seeds
and forts of the hedgeapple balls to protect
the pumpkins from two hungry squirrels.

And would you know to run outside
To hide away from monsters?
To search for turtle with a broken leg
inside your bath in robot submarine made
from an old Nutella lid?

And would you stride faster than the wind,
with pocketful of rocks, crab shells and starfish,
five rusted nails, a bluebird feather,
a wheat back penny, coyote bone,
and other countless treasure
to be constructed into something New and Big.

With so much treasure and so lightweight with love.

~~~
About BeeHappee

Where have all the bees gone? Where have all the flowers gone? https://beehappeenow.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Nature, Parenting, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Senses of Love

  1. migarium says:

    I have read your poem like listening the voice of the river:) Thank you, it is very good! Also, I don’t know why but whenever I see your post I am being happy, my Earthling friend:)

    • BeeHappee says:

      Thank you, Migo, my alien friend! I am still trying to lick my elbow you know, as I was challenged to, I bet WD could do it. πŸ™‚ Thank you for bringing some goodness to this Earth!

      • migarium says:

        Thank you for your kind words, my dear Earthling friend! And you bring so much happiness and brightness to the lives on this planet, you are doing great! And WD says to you “yes, I could do it best more than you! But with only one condition: there should not be any lady dog around us. Because I don’t want my reputation would overshadow on the eyes of the lady dogs.” πŸ™‚

  2. Wondrous. Wonder-filled.

  3. Hariod Brawn says:

    Absolutely wonderful, Kristina! You’ve captured with great wit and acuity a vision of childhood all parents must recognise. And perhaps non-parents too, if their memories permit. πŸ™‚

    • BeeHappee says:

      Thank you, dear Hariod. Yes, we can bring back the memories and relive that joyful will if possible. Well, perhaps it would be quite interesting if we ran naked after our bath and jumped on our bed for 30 minutes, ignoring our sleepy companions, screaming in joy and trying to jump in into our pajamas. πŸ™‚ But then, like Hafiz says, ‘of course, things like that can happen’!:

      • Hariod Brawn says:

        Thankyou so much for the poetry reading, dear Kristina, delivered, it must be said, in the tightly measured, clipped intonation of a true Englishman! πŸ™‚ I suspect our mutual friend Michael might bring a little more Γ©lan to such ecstatic a subject! πŸ™‚ As for post-ablution activities, then I do just what you say every single day – the great advantage of living on one’s own, and where no one can hear you scream. πŸ˜‰

  4. shoreacres says:

    I have a very small collection of souvenirs from my current travels: six rusted railroad spikes, two pine cones from an overburned forest that is coming back to life, and a handful of grasses that surprised me by floating their seeds through the car. I’m traveling light, and happy. You poem describes the state perfectly… thank you!

    • BeeHappee says:

      Six railroad spikes! I am curious to hear more about your adventures, Linda, and to see what good plans you have for those railroad spikes. I had been a bit wary carrying pieces of nature from state to state these days with all the invasive species spreading (I saw the signs in Vermont about washing your bikes after the rides), but still, all that stuff just finds its way into my pockets and car, some place we have a bagful or Petoskey stones, tons of shells from both oceans, ostrich feathers from an Island of Saaremaa in Estonia (of all the places!!), pieces of Utah and Arizona canyons… Just today, riding bikes we crossed paths with about 300 Canadian geese, and I suddenly found out we are making sweaters from goose down, by the time we left, goose feathers were sticking out of my pockets, I was covered in down like a half-plucked chicken.. I was relieved when boy discovered a game of throwing feathers into the lake to float, but then he suddenly started seeing something special in each feather, and the hording started again. πŸ™‚

  5. smilecalm says:

    leaves me
    freshly fueled
    with love πŸ™‚

  6. A tribute to a childhood in Nature. Very nice. Very.

  7. Beautiful and what I love best is the treasures held in the imagination of children.. Spent this afternoon playing lovely games with my soon to be 6 yr old granddaughter.. MAGIC.. happens when we explore the Magic of Nature.. xx
    Love and Hugs Kristina..
    Sue xxx

  8. Scott says:

    The stick in the river bed… It’s like a mechanic’s stethoscope to listen what’s going on inside the motor. I bet the stick in the creek sounds neat. I hope I remember to try that…

    • BeeHappee says:

      Yup, kids discovered that in a water experiment section in science museum, and they had been experimenting in the rivers in Vermont, which were great for that – shallow, clear, rocky, fast flowing. You can really hear water bubbles popping in the water.

  9. Wonderful Bee.
    It is not just small kids that collect those treasures, so do the bigger ones… πŸ˜‰

    • BeeHappee says:

      Ron, I am so glad to hear your “voice”!!! Since I had not seen you on FB, I feel like I had not kept up with what you had been up to. Some productive traveling and always learning it seems?
      As far as collecting treasure goes, yes, most of us never stop, do we, collecting something. What I love about a small child’s view is that they see a treasure in everything, a smiling face in a piece of rock, a special coloration of every feather. Also, I noticed, once they admire the specialty of that beauty, they never really get overly attached to the stuff, when it goes missing, they never even notice, for they are already off admiring something else.

      • I only use fb for those I can not reach so easily otherwise, so my “friendlist” is very short.
        And yes, there was some productive travelling and the learning never stops.
        I had sort of expected to see a bit more of your travelling here, actually.

        • BeeHappee says:

          Thanks, Ron. If you go to my FB history, you will see some glimpses from photos in the Baltics and the US East Coast. I was not interested in recounting all the traveling details here, as for the most part they are just that – details that come and go. The vastness of the American West can leave you speechless. Some highlights stay with me, like sleeping under the brightest stars on California Hwy 1, Ocean on one side and mountain on the other, and crickets all around. Or finding out that pot is legal in Oregon, but pumping your own gas is not. πŸ™‚ Or meeting a man with his dog on a motorcycle in the middle of the canyons, he takes goggles off his dog, talks to him, takes his shoes off and climbs on the highest peak barefoot past the rattlesnakes. The Joshua trees, the redwoods, the pines that smell like caramel, the sands and rocks of rainbow colors, the most incredible rivers…. It makes you want to scream: thank you, thank you, thank you for the beauty of this world!! The Baltic states so small, cozy, homey, we just ate buckets of greens from my parents gardens, and picked berries in the woods. The finest sands in Latvia, old castles, and most beautiful small towns – well you know all that. We spent some time in Vermont, which felt like home, and saw the coast of Maine which is breathtaking in its roughness. We met friendliest people in Kentucky, and watched black bears in Tennessee Smokeys. But if you ever have a chance, do visit American West.

          • Now that sounds like an awful lot of inspiration to posts or poems to me, doesn’t it`.
            We Europeans do not know that US beauty and the folks over there have no idea of our cozyness, our castles and beautiful small towns. I would just love to take a trip to the Baltics or the American west….. No chance however.

          • BeeHappee says:

            Have you read John Muir, Ron? He will transport you to the beauty of American west. Keep up your dreams and your travels, and enjoy your beautiful plot of life sustaining goodness.

          • Did you go to Yosemite (Yo-sem-mi-tee) (my husband pronounces it Yo-Zemmitee)? OMG we are only one hour from that incredible place. Yes, screaming Thank you for making such a beautiful world! Yosemite is like the Grand Canyon. (But not like. Nothing compares to the GC. Hyperventilation at the grandeur. Wait, I seem to remember we talked about this.)

            Some day you should go to Yosemite. 360 degrees. No bad views.

            The West is a very special place. Maybe that’s why I love it so.

          • BeeHappee says:

            Not yet, Renee. Will go one day. Ended up getting lost for the whole day in Sequoia National Park, but it was fun. Yosemite is on my list. We are just enjoying small little places that have their own magnificence right here in our backyard, in Prescott, AZ.

  10. Michael says:

    I love this tour of the heart’s imaginings, and in particular the photo of the boy bouncing along the trail. Seeing this way keeps our thinking young and supple, and open to the unexpected beauty all around us. Thank you for sharing these treasures with us, Kristina!

    Peace
    Michael

  11. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

    I love how you notice things your kids do and keep them in your heart. I love how you live through their wise eyes, and in doing so, live in your heart. Thank you Kristina Bee

  12. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

    Thanks for the link. I will check it out. I love that. Children reveal more about nature than practically any guru.

  13. Hi Bee. Like this one, too.
    Are you in VT?

    • BeeHappee says:

      Dear Will, thank you. No, not in Vermont at the moment otherwise we would stop by your place to say hi. In rural Illinois now, surrounded by cornfields and scratching my head how we came to this that it so difficult to find fresh quality food on this soil that ranks as some of the most fertile in the country…

  14. Ben Hewitt says:

    Nice poem and pic, Bee. Hope you guys are doing great wherever you are.

    • BeeHappee says:

      Thank you, Ben. We are in beautiful pine woods of Arizona. I can picture your boys exploring the canyon wilderness here, birds galore, rock of every color, flowing grasses, tallest yuccas, cutest javelinas, herds of pronghorn antelope, and most beautiful skies above the mountains. Thank you for stopping by, and Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

  15. wha? Are you in Illinois or Arizona?

What do you think?

